Author Topic: Ai won't take off.  (Read 2470 times)

June 11, 2017, 07:32:24 PM

Offline CptPingu

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Ai won't take off.
« on: June 11, 2017, 07:32:24 PM »
Hi guys.

Got a problem, I've noticed that Ai wont take off on some runways, they taxi and hold short but then just sit there until they dissapear.

Is it possible i've installed too many packs as i've got about 90% of the library? or could it be anything else?

Thanks.

June 11, 2017, 09:03:00 PMReply #1

Offline beroun

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 190
    • View Profile
Re: Ai won't take off.
« Reply #1 on: June 11, 2017, 09:03:00 PM »
Hi,
it is normal for AI aircraft to disappear if not moving (I think he default limit is 5 minutes). There are few reasons why the AI aircraft do not move.
The most common is awaiting for take-off or taxi due to other traffic. Another reason could be wrong add-on airport design with missing hold-short nodes or
the nodes being too far from the runway. There is a program which can prolong the limit of 5 minutes. See this forum post with links:
https://www.avsim.com/forums/topic/66251-ai-aircraft-timeout-and-disappear/
Ouch:(, the links no longer work but you can search for it.
« Last Edit: June 11, 2017, 09:04:49 PM by beroun »
Peter Bendl,
formerly from BA

June 12, 2017, 12:00:27 PMReply #2

Offline CptPingu

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Ai won't take off.
« Reply #2 on: June 12, 2017, 12:00:27 PM »
Thanks for the reply.

I've found that Aitimeout mod but it won't work for FSX thats been updated to and after SP2.

I've also found a thread regarding altering a file called Aiplayer.dll but need to be modfied with Hex edit, I'll have a go with that.

Here is the thread: https://www.avsim.com/forums/topic/363969-a-fix-for-5-minute-ai-timeout-limit-for-fsx-sp2-finally/

Also i've been reading about these hold short nodes but i havent been able to find a thread that explains how to find and edit these AFCAD files.

June 12, 2017, 12:52:10 PMReply #3

Offline beroun

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 190
    • View Profile
Re: Ai won't take off.
« Reply #3 on: June 12, 2017, 12:52:10 PM »
Hi,
good luck with the time-out mod. In reference to checking/adjusting the hold-short nodes, you can do it with ADE:
http://www.scruffyduck.org/downloads/4584110854
need to learn it a bit but t is highly rewarding.
 
Peter Bendl,
formerly from BA

June 12, 2017, 03:57:46 PMReply #4

Offline CptPingu

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
    • View Profile
Re: Ai won't take off.
« Reply #4 on: June 12, 2017, 03:57:46 PM »
Hi I've sorted it now, rarther than use ADE I've opted to simply go to https://flyawaysimulation.com/ and download a custom afcad someone has made, both the airports i'vr had problem with are now working as intended and they got a visual upgrade too.

I tried to use ADE but kept getting errors, plus having no idea of how to use it put me off attempting as I'm worried i'll make things worse. XD